Contribute your energy and ideas; join the Non-Exempt Staff Council (NESC)

Contribute your energy and ideas; join the Non-Exempt Staff Council (NESC)

From the Non-Exempt Staff Council

Non-exempt (hourly) employees, consider this opportunity to be part of the larger UST community and contribute your energy and ideas as a Staff Council member (NESC).

Elections to fill eight positions on the Non-Exempt Staff Council will be held in late March. Vacancies are in the following areas:

  • Academic (2)
  • Administrative (3)
  • Auxiliary Services (1)
  • At-large St. Paul (1)
  • At-large Minneapolis (1)

The NESC, which serves all non-exempt employees, meets monthly and hosts open constituent meetings annually as well as sponsoring the spring Staff Appreciation Breakfast. Staff Council members serve two-year terms.

To nominate yourself or a non-exempt co-worker as a council member, visit the Staff Council Web site. Click on the “Questions? Comments? Write us” link and enter the nominees’ name and department in the comment section.

Nominations will be accepted until Thursday, February 28, through the link above, by e-mail, or intercampus mail to NESC Election, Mail 4221.

After nominations are received, voting will take place in late March.

Please note:

  • Nominees will be contacted by the election subcommittee prior to election for confirmation of their willingness to serve on the council, if elected.
  • Voting will be done online.
  • The election subcommittee will announce the results at the Appreciation Breakfast Tuesday, April 15, and in the UST Staff Council minutes.

The NESC mission: The NESC shall serve as a forum to foster communication, advise in decision-making processes and, in general, focus on cooperation, working conditions and morale at UST. NESC is a deliberative and recommending body, considering and discussing job-related issues originating from both its constituency or referred by UST’s administration. It welcomes all suggestions, feedback and comments.

Consider joining us! For more details or if you have questions, please contact one of the election subcommittee members, Linda Lee Borovansky, (651) 962-6417, or Barb Joynson (651) 962-6434.