The Rev. Dennis Dease, president of the University of St. Thomas, has nominated Dr. Carol Bruess, Communications Department, for the 2000 Thomas Erlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning.

This national award recognizes and honors one faculty member annually for support of integrating service into curricula and for efforts to institutionalize service-learning at their college or university. The award is named in honor of Thomas Erlich, past chair of the Executive Committee of Campus Compact and President Emeritus of Indiana University.

In his nominating letter, Dease wrote, “Dr. Bruess has demonstrated outstanding achievement in three major areas: using service-learning in her teaching; engaging her profession with many national, regional, and local presentations and papers about service-learning; and promoting service-learning at our university through involvement in her department, her division, and as a founding member on our Faculty Advisory Board for Service-Learning.”

In addition, he wrote of her recent award for Outstanding New Teacher from the Central States Communication Association this year. That award was given in large part for her work in service-learning. He noted, “Dr. Bruess is highly committed to our goals of fostering in our students the ability to do well and also to do good.”

This is the first time the University of St. Thomas has submitted a nomination for this prestigious award.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email