St. Thomas Newsroom

Professional Notes for Sept. 2, 2014

Dr. Corrine Carvalho

Dr. Corrine Carvalho, Theology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, was a contributor to the forthcoming two-volume Fortress Commentary on the Bible, edited by former St. Thomas faculty member Gale Yee, Hugh Page Jr.,  Matthew J. M. Coomber, Margaret Aymer, Cynthia Briggs Kittredge and David Sánchez (Fortress Press).

Dr. Massimo Faggioli, Theology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is the author of an article, “The Italian Job:  Can Pope Francis Manage His Local Opposition?” published in Commonweal Magazine (Aug. 15 pp. 17-20).

Dr. Anne Klejment, History Department, College of Arts and Sciences, was invited to present her research, “Dorothy Day and Vatican II,” June 13, at the New York Catholic Worker. Klejment’s project is part of her sabbatical research on the spirituality and activism of Dorothy Day.

Dr. Mark McInroy

Dr. Mark McInroy, Theology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is the author of Balthasar on the Spiritual Senses; (Oxford University Press, 2014). His book is part of the Changing Paradigms in Historical and Systematic Theology series (Sarah Coakley and Richard Cross, eds.).

Dr. Manjeet Rege

Dr. Manjeet Rege, Graduate Programs in Software, is the co-author of “Toward Inferring the Age of Twitter Users With Their Use of Nonstandard Abbreviations and Lexicon,” which has been accepted to appear in the proceedings of the 15th IEEE International Conference on Information Reuse and Integration, held Aug 13 to 15, in San Francisco.

Dr. Angela Senander

Dr. Angela Senander, Theology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, presented a paper, “The Leadership Practices of Francis, Bishop of Rome,” at the Catholic Theological Society of America annual convention.

Gary Voegele, Ethics and Business Law Department, Opus College of Business, was recommended by the Commission on Judicial Selection as one of four First Judicial District candidates to Governor Dayton. Voegele has been general legal counsel for Rice County District One Hospital since 1997; was also a part-time Public Defender for 14 years in Rice County and served as an Administrative Law Judge and Child Support Magistrate for the State of Minnesota. Voegele also has been recognized annually by Minnesota Monthly as one of the best lawyers in family law matters and served as chair of the Family Law Section of the Minnesota State Bar Association; president of the Faribault Foundation. He is a board member of the Minnesota State Bar Foundation and a long-time member of the Minnesota Association for Justice.

Dr. Christian Washburn

Dr. Christian Washburn, Saint Paul Seminary School of Divinity, is the author of  “St. Robert Bellarmine’s Theology of the Sacrament of Ordination,” published in Josephinum (2012), pp. 1-18.

Shanea Turner Smith and Elisabeth Wells, students in the School of Social Work, were named BSW Student of the Year and MSW Student of the Year, respectively, at the National Association of Social Work–MN annual conference held June 5 and 6, both student awards went to St. Kate’s – St. Thomas School of Social Work students. In addition, Dr. Jessica Toft, School of Social Work, was elected as the new vice president of NASW-MN.

Several students were recently recognized for their scholastic and civic accomplishments at the 2014 Chemistry and Biochemistry Banquet:

Juniors Liz Beck, Evan Eklund, Cecilia Gentle, Abigail Heuer, Dan Kremer, Maggie Malone-Povolny, Kirsten Mueller, Meghan Talbot and Holly Wang were awarded William D. Larson Scholarships. This scholarship is awarded to students who show exceptional achievement in the field of chemistry, and who intend to pursue careers in chemistry, related fields or medicine.

Sophomore Alison Yang was awarded the Henry M. Neumann Scholarship.

Graduating (May 2014) seniors Kayla Ryan and Becca Kummer were recognized as Outstanding Senior Chemistry Major and Outstanding Senior Biochemistry Major, respectively.

Kristin Braden, Danielle Francen and Jackie Kapla were recognized “Outstanding Service to the Department” for their contributions to and citizenship throughout the Chemistry Department outside of classes.

Other outstanding students were recognized for their accomplishments in the various sub-disciplines of chemistry:

  • Kayla Ryan, inorganic chemistry and physical chemistry
  • Maggie Malone-Povolny, analytical chemistry
  • Maia Moffatt, environmental chemistry
  • Michael D. Sirianni, Senior in Organic Chemistry
  • John Kummer, Sophomore in Organic Chemistry
  • Jackson Penning, biochemistry

Students who received the Chemistry Catalyst Award for Performance in General Chemistry were:

  • Kyle Mayne
  • Landon Crippes
  • Francesca Ippoliti
  • Melissa Jackels
  • Megan Manor
  • Daniel Nicholson
  • Amanda Kaing
  • Salman Inpanullah
  • Whitney Lloyd
  • Maya Audi
  • Paige Gernes
  • Justin Roche
  • Katie Skwarek