Service-Learning Advisory Board welcomes its new members

By Dr. Ellen Kennedy,
Professor and director of service learning

Thanks to "old" board members; welcome to new ones!

The Service-Learning Advisory Board says a hearty "thank you" to its members who have completed their terms and who are leaving the board: Dr. Cynthia Becker (Art History), Dr. Julie Derry (Health and Human Performance), Dr. Cheri Shakiban (Mathematics), and graduating students Ericka Johnson and Catherine O’Neill.

A very special thank you goes to Dr. Carol Bruess (Communication Studies), who has served on the board since its inception and was the interim director of service learning in fall 2003 during my sabbatical leave.

Congratulations and welcome to the new board members: Dr. Jeffery McLean (Mathematics), Dr. Lisa Waldner (Sociology), Dr. Ellen Riordan (Communication Studies), Julie Schwalbach (Human Resources), Patty Petersen (University Relations), Susan Spray (Development), Kathy Bredesen (Legal Studies), and students Jackie Radunz (undergraduate) and Jessica Cook (graduate).

Continuing board members are Dr. Elise Amel (Psychology), Dave Bonko (Neighborhood Development Center), Dr. Mari Heltne (QMCS), Mike Klein (Justice and Peace Studies), Dr. Amy Muse (English), Dr. Ernie Owens (Management), Dr. Richard Raschio (Spanish), Tim Scully (Communication Studies), and Dr. Kim Vrudny (Theology).

The board, comprised of students, faculty, staff and community representatives, sets policy and guides the institutionalization of service learning at St. Thomas. For more information about service learning at UST, please send me an e-mail.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email