St. Thomas Day award videos can be seen online

The 2006 St. Thomas Day honorees are pictured with Father Dennis Dease, president of the University of St. Thomas. Honorees, from left to right, are: William Roddy, Benjamin Kessler, Charles Duggan, (Father Dennis Dease), Vince Flynn and Frank Coglitore.

St. Thomas Day award videos can be seen online

The University of St. Thomas community gathered Saturday, March 4, to celebrate its annual St. Thomas Day and to honor recipients of its Humanitarian, Distinguished Alumnus, Professor of the Year, Tommie and Monsignor James Lavin awards.

In past years, award recipients were introduced at the annual St. Thomas Day dinner, and traditionally the winners would say a few words.

More recently, in place of the introduction, a video program was prepared and shown for each award winner. Those videos now can be seen here by clicking on the links below. Each video runs about three minutes.

The videos were prepared by Brad Jacobsen of Web and Media Services; Dave Nimmer, who recently was named professor emeritus of journalism and mass communications; Vivian Boockmeier, of Alumni and Constituent Relations; and Bao Vang, a St. Thomas senior who is majoring in journalism.

The award winners, and the links, are below:

Distinguished Alumnus – This year's award was given to Vince Flynn, of Edina, a 1988 St. Thomas graduate and author of seven best-selling political thrillers.

Established in 1971, the Distinguished Alumnus award is presented for leadership and service to the university, to the community and in the person’s field of endeavor.

Humanitarian of the Year – William Roddy, of Eden Prairie, received the 2006 Humanitarian of the Year Award for his work on behalf of at-risk youth.

Roddy, a 1979 business graduate of St. Thomas, and his wife, Gail, had been volunteers at the Hennepin County Home School, a juvenile correctional facility located in Minnetonka, when they decided to launch a nonprofit venture called Osiris Organization, named for an ancient Egyptian god of renewal and transformation.

Established 34 years ago, the Humanitarian of the Year Award is presented by the university’s Alumni Association.

Professor of the Year – Frank Coglitore, of Lakeville, is this year's Professor of the Year. The 45-year-old award recognizes excellence in teaching, scholarship and inspiration to students.

Coglitore, 63, has been teaching accounting at St. Thomas for 23 years.

Monsignor James Lavin Award – Charles Duggan, of Edina, received this year's Lavin award. Established in 1994, the award annually honors a volunteer for service to the St. Thomas Alumni Association.

Tommie Award – Benjamin Kessler was selected the 2006 Tommie Award winner by a vote of students, staff and faculty. The award has been given annually since 1931 to a senior who exemplifies the ideals of the university.

Kessler, of Janesville, Wis., holds a 4.0 grade-point average and is majoring in philosophy and business. He is member of St. John Vianney Seminary, a community of undergraduate seminarians located on the university’s St. Paul campus, and his years at St. Thomas have blended scholarship, athletics and service to the church and community.