The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation awards $30,000 merit-based scholarships to college students who wish to attend graduate school to prepare for careers in government or elsewhere in the public sector.

Students who are juniors during the 1999-2000 academic year (or have senior standing after three years of enrollment) and who plan to attend graduate or professional school may be eligible to apply for a Truman Scholarship grant. Scholars are eligible to receive $3,000 for the senior year of undergraduate education and $27,000 for graduate studies. Scholars in one-year or two-year graduate programs are eligible to receive $13,500 per year. Scholars in law programs are eligible to receive $13,500 for the second year and $13,500 at the start of the third year’s second semester if they present evidence that they will enter public service immediately upon graduation or completion of any clerkships. Scholars in longer graduate programs are eligible to receive $9,000 per year for three years.

St. Thomas may nominate up to four candidates for Truman scholarships. Nominees must be excellent students, have outstanding leadership skills and a record of active involvement in the community, and be planning a course of study that can lead to a career in public service.

The foundation seeks people who aspire for positions in government or the nonprofit and advocacy sectors where they wish to improve the ways federal, state, or local government agencies, educational institutions and nonprofit organizations serve the public and protect resources.

The foundation has supported Truman scholars in many fields of study, including agriculture, biology, engineering, environmental management, physical and social sciences, and technology policy, as well as traditional fields such as economics, education, government, history, international relations, law, political science, political administration, nonprofit management, public policy and public health.

If you would like more information about applying to be one of St. Thomas’ nominees, contact Dr. Robert Farlow, Political Science Department chair, Room 427, O’Shaughnessy Educational Center, (96)2-5725, Mail #5033,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email