St. Thomas Newsroom

University of St. Thomas Welcomes 55 New Teachers into the Profession

The University of St. Thomas welcomed 55 new teachers to the teaching profession on May 18, 2015, at the Teacher Education Commissioning Ceremony. More than 150 family and friends were in attendance to celebrate this major milestone.

The Commissioning Ceremony is held for teacher candidates who have successfully completed their coursework and clinical practice. During the ceremony, students were presented by their field supervisors to Department Chair Bruce Gleason, Ph.D., for licensure in their chosen area of teaching. Each was also honored with a university pin by Teaching Education Assessment Coordinator Carole Koch and other department staff.

“It’s a very proud moment for the college and the university,” said Dr. Gleason. “Teachers are a key component to the health of our society, and these graduates are exceptionally talented individuals who have made their passion for education a lifelong career. I’m confident our programs have prepared them for the challenges and joys they will encounter in the classroom.”

On December 14, the university will welcome an additional 25 teachers into the profession at the fall Teacher Education Commissioning Ceremony. The ceremony will be held from 12-12:45 p.m. in Thornton Auditorium. Amy Hewett-Olatunde, University of St. Thomas faculty member and 2015 Teacher of the Year, will address the candidates. Hewett-Olatunde teaches ESL at LEAP High School in St. Paul, Minnesota.

More information about our Teacher Education programs can be viewed at

Megan Groechel ’15 reads to a classroom of second graders at Kimberly Lane Elementary School where she completed her clinical practice coursework.