UST student journalists win awards and honors

Honoring the best in student journalism, the awards offer 45 categories for print, radio, television, and online collegiate journalism. Entries are first judged on the regional level. Regional award winners are honored at SPJ’s spring regional conferences. Regional first-place winning entries are forwarded to the national competition.

“Remembering Senator Wellstone,” the trio’s “Campus Scope” story following the October 2002 death of the Minnesota senator, originally aired last November. It was nominated in awards program’s Television General News Reporting category.

Lutz also was elected to a one-year term as student representative at-large on the 23-member SPJ board of directors. A double major in broadcast journalism and communication studies, she has been an SPJ member since 200 and has served as vice president and president of the UST chapter.

St. Thomas’ student SPJ chapter also took home the Region 6 Outstanding Student Chapter Award. The award is given to a student chapter from Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota or South Dakota in recognition of outstanding programs and activities. Karen Boros is the chapter’s faculty adviser.

Recent journalism alumna Angela Kuharski and senior journalism major Dan Olson have been nominated for regional Emmy Awards by the Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Kuharski and Olson were nominated for outstanding achievement in student production. Winners will be announced Oct. 25.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email