2014 Tommie Award Finalists Announced

Eden Checkol, Danielle Francen and Brandon Miranda have been voted finalists for the 2014 Tommie Award.

Preliminary voting for the 23 nominees ended Wednesday, Dec. 11. Finalists were selected by a vote of students, faculty and staff. To review resumes and testimonials for each finalist, visit the Tommie Award website.

“It was truly an honor to read about all of the accomplishments and contributions made by each of the 23 nominees this year.  These students are an outstanding representation of our mission at St. Thomas,” said award coordinator Vern Klobassa, director of student engagement. “I wish to extend my sincere congratulations to each nominee.”

The 20 other nominees include: Max Bischmann, Heather Clayton, Alex Goering, Lindsay Goodwin, Jenna Johnson, Alex Johnson, Paige Johnson, Emily Kindelspire, Benjamin Kula, Dillon Lang, Stephanie McCartan, Sean Ness, Samuel O’Donnell, Bailey Otis, Ranitha Rajaratnam, Hayley Trace, Anne Traynor, Gina Vo, Erin Windschitl and Joseph Wistrcill.

The Tommie Award has been presented since 1931 to a UST senior. It recognizes achievement in scholarship, leadership and campus involvement, and represents the highest ideals of the university.

The Tommie Award is sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs. For more information, contact Klobassa, (651) 962-6464.