Entrepreneur Awards Ceremony in Schulze Hall tomorrow

Entrepreneur Awards Ceremony in Schulze Hall tomorrow

The College of Business’ 17th annual Entrepreneur Awards Ceremony will be held from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 11, in the auditorium of Schulze Hall on the University of St. Thomas Minneapolis campus.

The John F. Cade award will be given to 1979 St. Thomas graduate Mark Gregg, president and managing partner of Penrose Financial Services, a Vienna, Va., firm that specializes in real estate loans and development.

The Cade Award is given annually and was established in memory of a 1970 UST graduate who died in a 1986 airplane crash. At the time, Inc. magazine ranked his 6-year-old Cade Industries 18th of the top 100-fastest-growing companies in the United States. The award recognizes outstanding entrepreneurial attributes, contributions to the community, ethical standards and integrity.

The Entrepreneurship Alumna of the Year Award goes to Julie Ann Steenerson, a 2000 M.B.A. graduate who founded and owns Sapor Café.

Donald Regan, founder and chairman of Premier Banks, will receive the Family Business Award.

Other award winners are Brian Cox, Pentair Scholarship; Jerad Poling, Charles Kubly Entrepreneur Award; Lauri Flores, Kim Kelley and David Laliberte, Murray and Ruth Harpole Scholarships; Sam Ginnis, Dennis Anderson CEO Roundtable Scholarship; Shawnee Huie, Kaaren Radtke Award; and Adam Bressler, Brian Cox, Laurie Flores, Shawnee Huie and Amanda Lange, Student Practicing Entrepreneurs award.

A 7:30 to 8:30 p.m. reception will be held in the Schulze Hall atrium following the award ceremonies.