Exempt Staff Council Nominations Requested

Interested in promoting the greater good for your colleagues, your department and the university? Want to get involved with a cross-section of UST professionals? Nominate yourself or someone you know to serve on the Exempt Staff Council.

The council meets monthly, organizes biannual forums, brown bag sessions and other projects in the interest of exempt staff. Members also are expected to represent the council on a standing committee of the university. Most standing committees also have monthly meetings. Members serve for two years.

The council is composed of 10 people, with half from departments that report to the executive vice president and chief academic officer, and half in departments that report to the executive vice president and chief administrative officer.

The council is requesting nominations to replace three members from the administrative area and two members from the academic area.

The Exempt Staff Council would like to thank the following inaugural council members whose terms are ending for their three and one-half years of leadership and service:

  • Margaret Cahill, Office of Campus Life
  • Tony Lewno, Biology
  • Nate Rolloff, IRT – IT OPS
  • Sandy Schwartz, Business Office
  • M. Kay Wimer, UST MBA Program

Marie Aho, Terry Lynn Eggert, Sarah Huesing, Andrea Koeppe and Colleen Stephens will continue to serve on the council for an additional year.

Exempt staff members should have received nomination instructions via email this morning, Tuesday, March 6, with a corrected link from last week’s email. If you submitted a nomination with the first, incorrect link sent last Thursday, please accept the council’s apology and resubmit that nomination. If you have questions regarding this, please contact Andrea Koeppe or the Council.  Nominations will close Thursday, March 15. Nominees will be contacted by members of the current council to confirm their interest.

The election process begins Friday, March 30, with voting closing on Thursday, April 5. Details on how and where to vote will be published in Bulletin Today on March 30. Newly elected council members will be notified individually by an ESC officer. An announcement of the election results, and the new Exempt Staff Council, will then be published in Bulletin Today.

"Please consider  serving on this valuable asset to the University of St. Thomas," Koeppe remarked. "As an Exempt Staff Council member you can contribute your energy and ideas on behalf of your peers."

For more information email Koeppe.