Going Out on a High Note

The Opus College of Business prides itself on the quality of its faculty. In keeping with this pride, two awards are presented annually to recognize faculty achievement.

The Julie Hays Teaching Award is given to an OCB faculty member for exemplary achievement in the classroom in the previous academic year. More than 30 faculty were nominated for the hays award this year, a sign of the passion our faculty have for teaching and engaging with their students.

Awarded since 2010, the Hays Award was presented today to Dr. Heino Beckmann. Beckmann announced earlier in the day his plans to retire after  28 years teaching in St Thomas’ Finance Department.

“As someone who views himself as a coach and mentor rather than a professor, Professor Beckmann pushes students intellectually, morally, and philosophically,” one student wrote.  "One of the most interesting people I have ever met, he draws on his past experiences to not only teach us the subject, but to teach us how to become the best people we can be.”

Read more about Professor Beckmann's teaching and honors »

The Susan E. Heckler Research Excellence Award recognizes outstanding faculty achievement in research. The Heckler Award was given this year to Daryl Koehn, Ph.D.

New FacultyKoehn has had a significant impact on the field of Business Ethics. A survey of the top business ethics journals from around the world showed that she was the second most published business ethicist in the field during the period from 1999-2008, as well as one of the most cited authors in business ethics, receiving more than 1,000 citations. Along with Bob Solomon at the University of Texas, Koehn brought virtue ethics to the fore in the field of business ethics.

Read more about Professor Koehn's research »

Congratulations to these accomplished members of our faculty!