Lacrosse team wins national title

Lacrosse team wins national title

With a 16-11 triumph over the University of Dayton Flyers, the UST men's club lacrosse team was crowned Division II national champion Saturday in Denver.

Ranked No. 2 entering the Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association national tournament, the Tommies received a first-round bye and then defeated No. 7 Westminster (Utah), 16-5, in the quarterfinals; No. 3 Davenport Panthers (Michigan), 18-7, in the semifinals; and No. 1 ranked Dayton Flyers (Ohio), 16-11, in the championship game.

Tony Sadder sparked the Tommies against Dayton with five goals and two assists. Sophomore Joe Costello added three goals and three assists. Dayton had advanced to the championship game with a 10-9 victory over St. John's University of Collegeville.

It was the first title-game appearance for the Tommies, who set a Division II tournament record for the most points scored (50) during the tournament. Defenseman Derek Michalski and midfielders Joe Costello and Andrew Larson were named to the All-Tournament Team.

Three Tommies also earned Division II individual honors this season. Costello and junior Derek Michelski were named First Team All-America, and sophomore Cooper Mazon was named Second Team All-America.

The team is coached by Pete Moosbrugger, who also earned First Team All-America honors as coach. The team finished the season with a 16-1 record.