Philosophy Department Announces Essay Contest Winners

The winners of the annual Student Philosophy Essay Contest have been named by the Philosophy Department. They are:

  • First place – Darin Schmidt, “The Most Heavenly Freedom”
  • Second place – Billy Watson, “The Sleeping Beauty Paradox Resolved and the Reflection Principle: Can One Have Both?”
  • Third place – Paul Armstrong, “The Problem of Infinity as Found in ‘The Antinomy to Pure Reason’ and Zeno’s Paradox”

The winners have been invited to present their work at the last Philosophy Colloquium event of the year during convo hour on Thursday, April 28, in Room 401, John R. Roach Center for the Liberal Arts.

Each year the department invites undergraduates to submit essays on any philosophical topic. In addition to the opportunity to present their work as part of the regular Philosophy Department Colloquium series, prizes include awards of $200 for first place and $100 each to the two runners-up.

For more information visit the Philosophy Department website.