See an American classic, 'Our Town,' March 7-11 in Foley Theater

Valerie Brunnette is Emily Webb and Steven Broszko is George Gibbs in the UST-CSC theater production of "Our Town" opening Wednesday in Foley Theater.

See an American classic, 'Our Town,' March 7-11 in Foley Theater

The joint Theater Department of the University of St. Thomas and the College of St. Catherine will present Thornton Wilder's 1938 Pulitzer Prize-winning "Our Town" at 7 p.m. Wednesday through Saturday, March 7-10, and 2 p.m. Sunday, March 11, 2007, in Foley Theater.

Tickets are $5 for general admission and free to students, faculty and staff with ID from the Associated Colleges of the Twin Cities (St. Thomas, St. Catherine, Augsburg College, Macalester College and Hamline University). Seating is limited; reservations will be taken at The O'Shaughnessy Ticket Office at St. Catherine, (651) 690-6700.

"Our Town" has come to be known as an American classic, in part because it may be one of the most frequently produced plays in the country, often performed by community theaters and repertory groups, high schools and colleges. At least two film versions, several television productions, musical adaptations and revivals of the play also have followed.

Set at the turn of the 20th century, the play reveals the everyday lives of the residents of a fictional town, Grover's Corners, N.H. An omniscient stage manager narrates the cycles of their lives and the play's timeless themes of daily life, love, marriage, death and eternity.

Visit or revisit George Gibbs, Emily Webb and "Grover's Corners, Sutton County, New Hampshire, United States of America, Continent of North America, Western Hemisphere, the Earth, the Solar System, the Universe, the Mind of God."

Dr. Mark Seamon, of the UST-CSC Theater Department faculty, directs the production . Cast members include St. Thomas students Molly O'Gara (as the stage manager), Steven Broszko (George Gibbs), Valerie Brunnette (Emily Webb), Ernest Briggs IV, Alex Hiebeling, Mandy Kempenich, Patrick LaVigne, Christopher Nier, Stephanie Bommarito, Sean Ewen, Grace Klehr, Jennifer Lunneborg, Tara Niebeling and Joseph Prout. St. Catherine student cast members are Mary Burmeister, Helen Buron, Sara Albino, Laura Hoover, Millie Annis, Kimberly Bartels, Kelsye Gould, Maretta Babler, Stephanie Gregor, Kelsye Gould, Cassandra Schueller and Andrea Wylie.