University Advocates for Women and Equity Names Four Winners of Annual Awards

Four winners of three awards presented annually have been named by the University Advocates for Women and Equity.

The awards won by the four were created to honor women on campus, or to honor scholarship or creative work on concerns related to women.

The awards and the 2012 award recipients are:

  • Good Sister Award: Dr. Susan Marsnik, for providing help and support in formal and informal ways to the women on campus.
  • Pauline Lambert Advocacy Award: Alexandra Campion and Lisa Johnson, for taking initiative in challenging problems that exist around gender issues on campus.
  • Sapientia Award: Dr. Tori Svoboda, for outstanding work with a focus on a woman or on a concern related to women

The awards will be presented at the UAWE’s spring reception, which will begin at 3:30 p.m. Thursday, April 19, in McNeely Hall, Room 100, on the university’s St. Paul campus.