Our employees continue to do great things: Nominate faculty and staff for awards

Our employees continue to do great things: Nominate faculty and staff for awards

Many of you will recall last year's Faculty and Staff Recognition Celebration when we gathered to honor the service, leadership and achievement of St. Thomas employees. Mark your calendar for this year's celebration on March 13, 2009. Details about the celebration will be announced early next semester, but now it's time for nominations.

Staff awards : The university again will honor staff members with two awards for extraordinary leadership, service and achievement in education or community building: the Lifelong Learner Award and the Distinguished Citizen Award. These awards are part of the comprehensive "Circle of Engagement" for St. Thomas staff.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, Jan. 9, 2009.  Nomination forms are available online and in the Human Resources Department, Room 217, Aquinas Hall.

Faculty awards: Faculty will be recognized with the John Ireland Award for Outstanding Achievement as Teacher-Scholar, sponsored by the Division of Academic Affairs. Letters of nomination, accompanied by nominees' current curriculum vitae, are to be forwarded to Dr. Joseph Kreitzer, Mail AQU 110, by Feb. 1, 2009.

Here's more information about these awards, who is eligible to receive them and their selection process:

The Lifelong Learner Award recognizes a staff member who has demonstrated a commitment to continuous learning, self-renewal and professional development. The focus of learning should transcend the specific requirements of the individual's current job responsibilities. Though the award is given annually, activities documented on the nomination form likely will address learning over a longer period. Award winners will receive a $2,500 St. Thomas budget, which they may use to fund their own professional development or donate part of or the entire award in their own name to a St. Thomas scholarship fund.

The Distinguished Citizen Award honors a staff member whose contributions reflect the qualities of good citizenship, such as providing service to others and advancing the common good for the campus and broader communities by enhancing the quality of life for others. Award winners will receive a 40-hour, paid recognition leave to engage in community activities with a nonprofit organization of his or her choosing. This paid leave may be used at one time or incrementally during the calendar year in which the award is granted.

See additional details about these staff awards here.

Eligibility: All current full- and part-time staff who have completed at least one year of service at St. Thomas may be nominated for these awards by faculty or staff members. Ineligible for participation in the program are employees in the following categories: senior-level staff such as members of the President's Staff and the Academic and Administrative Leadership Group; faculty; employees with a temporary, term or casual appointment; or student employees.

Award recipients must be on the university payroll at the time of the award ceremony in order to receive the award.

Selection process: A selection committee will review nominations and select award winners. Committee members include: Nora Fitzpatrick ( School of Law), Barb Dunker (Administration), Dan Vevang ( School of Education), Karen Lange (Student Affairs), and Edna Comedy (Human Resources Department).

These awards were developed by the Human Resources department in consultation with members of our staff and are among the best ways we can recognize committed and deserving staff employees.  We encourage you to consider your colleagues and nominate them for the valuable role they play in helping St. Thomas carry out its mission.

If you have any questions about the staff awards nomination process, please contact Edna Comedy, associate vice president for human resources, (651) 962-6511.

The John Ireland Presidential Award for Outstanding Achievement as Teacher-Scholar recognizes outstanding academic achievement of faculty in teaching and scholarship that exemplifies the mission and values of the University of St. Thomas as a teaching institution committed to the teacher/scholar model. In addition to an individual plaque and $2,500 in professional development funds, awardees will have their names recognized publicly on the John Ireland President Award plaque. Up to three awards can be presented each year.

Nominations: All faculty in administrative positions (program managers, department chairs, deans) are invited to nominate tenured faculty for this award based on the quality of their teaching (including advising and mentoring) and professional engagement (as defined in the Faculty Organization Plan).

Letters of nomination must address nominees' teaching excellence and excellence in professional engagement.

Selection process: Two members of the Deans' Council and up to three past award recipients will form the selection committee. The recommended nominee(s) must be endorsed by the Deans' Council and the executive vice president and chief academic officer. The nominations then will be forwarded to the university president.

If you have questions about the nomination process for the Ireland awards, please contact Dr. Joe Kreitzer, (651) 962-6032.

Who won these awards last year? See the announcement of last year's winners here.