Sociology and Criminal Justice Department welcomes new honor society members

Sociology and Criminal Justice Department initiates new members to international honor society

Five sociology and criminal justice majors and minors and one UST alumna were welcomed into the international sociology honor society, Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD). Casey Austin, Lyndsay Capeder, Nadine Friederichs '90, Lake Mathison, Heather Martin, and Jessica Nelson were initiated at a reception on May 1.

Also honored at the reception were the recipients of department awards and scholarships.  Heather Martin is the recipient of the James G. Ahler award. This award honors an outstanding student in sociology research methods and statistics. Babette Rivera is the recipient of the Sociologist for Women in Society Award. This award is presented to a promising student in sociology who has an interest in the sociology of gender. Colleen O’Connor is the recipient of the John C. Gessner Scholarship. This scholarship is named in honor of the late Dr. John C. Gessner, a former sociology professor at UST, and honors a promising sociology or criminal justice major or minor.

The department also recognized student scholarship and student participation in professional meetings. Tony Denny and Jessica Nelson participated in the ASA Honors Program at the American Sociological Association’s annual meeting in August 2005. Erin Wickner presented original research at the Sequoyah Research Symposium at the University of Arkansas. Eight students presented original research at the Student Poster Session of the Midwest Sociological Society annual meeting: Katherine Boran, Lyndsay Capedar, Anna Clark, Tony Denny, Heather Martin, Jessica Nelson, Nate Peterson and Sean Sweeney.

The keynote speaker was Karen Kaphingst, B.A., M.P.H. She spoke on the value of sociology for public health.