Sociology and Criminal Justice initiates members into honor society

AKD art / link

Sociology and Criminal Justice initiates members into honor society

Eight sociology and criminal justice majors and minors were welcomed into the international sociology honor society, Alpha Kappa Delta, this spring. Erin Bitzan, Katie Cook, Randy Hade, Carin Hudson, Stacy Janke, Nathaniel Minor and Lucas Power were initiated at a reception April 29.

Requirements for membership include a major or minor in sociology or criminal justice, completion of at least four courses in sociology at the University of St. Thomas, and rank in the top 30th percentile of all students by grade point average.

The keynote speaker was Jillian Berg '03, who is a 2002 AKD Initiate.

Also honored at the initiation reception were the recipients of department awards and scholarships:

  • Nathaniel Minor and Luis Rangel were the recipients of the James G. Ahler award, which honors an outstanding student in sociology research methods and statistics.
  • Breanna Alston was the recipient of the Sociologist for Women in Society. This award is presented to a promising student in sociology with an interest in the sociology of gender.
  • Minor also was the recipient of the John C. Gessner Scholarship. This scholarship is named in honor of the late Dr. John C. Gessner, a popular member of the UST Sociology Department from 1985 until his death in 1991.