Sociology and Criminal Justice initiates new members into honor society

Sociology and Criminal Justice initiates new members into honor society

Eight sociology and criminal justice majors and minors were welcomed into the international sociology honor society, Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD), this spring. Karla Bridgeman, Scott DeMuth, Erin Flanagan, David Green, Brianna Helminick, Caseye Pofahl, Scott Smith and Ruth Soucie were initiated at a reception on Tuesday, April 22.

Requirements for membership include a major or minor in sociology or criminal justice, completion of at least four courses in sociology at the University of St. Thomas, and rank in the top 30th percentile of all students by grade point average.

Also honored at the initiation ceremony were the following students who were given department awards and scholarships:

  • Scott DeMuth received the James G. Ahler award, which honors an outstanding student in sociology research methods and statistics. Ahler taught in the Sociology Department for 32 years and was department chair from 1983 to 1988.
  • Colleen O'Conner received the Sociologist for Women in Society award, which is presented to a promising student in sociology with an interest in the sociology of gender.
  • Scott DeMuth and Joanna Koski received the John C. Gessner Scholarship, which is named in honor of Dr. John (Jack) Gessner, a popular member of the UST Sociology Department from 1985 to 1991.

The keynote speaker was Christy Curtis Hensley, a 2000 UST sociology graduate and 1999 AKD initiate.