The Aquin wins 14 awards from the Minnesota Newspaper Association

The Aquin wins 14 awards from the Minnesota Newspaper Association

The Aquin, the University of St. Thomas student newspaper, received 14 awards in January from the Minnesota Newspaper Association, including the top award for general excellence.

In addition, The Aquin took home first prizes for editorial page as a whole, best use of photography as a whole and best staff-written editorial. "From the front page to the sports section," wrote the judges, "this paper offers a nice snapshot of life on the St. Thomas campus. There is a lot of energy and commitment reflected by the staff. Good job."

Laura Seidel and David Blomquist were The Aquin's editors for the contest period covering the 2006-07 academic year. Stephanie Edquist and Michael Wilcox were opinions editors. Jess Smith was chief photographer.

In the individual categories, Richard Brown took first and Alex Zoltai took second for best photographer's portfolio. In the best photo story category, Zoltai took first for his centerpiece story on Bolivia titled "A Lasting Image," while Brown was second with his holiday package "Northern Lights." Zoltai also took second-place awards in the feature photo category and in the portrait and personality photo category.

Laurence Farah took first in sports reporting for his story about former women's hockey coach, Kevin Gorg. Kalsey Larson earned first prize in best social issues feature story for her piece on nutrition and healthy eating. Ifrah Jimale was second with her story about violence in Somalia. Jordan Humphrey added an honorable mention in feature writing for his story and pictures about an ACC trip to New Orleans to help with cleanup after Hurricane Katrina.

The University Chronicle of St. Cloud State earned 17 awards overall. Minnesota State, Mankato, earned 12 awards.

Michael O'Donnell, associate professor of journalism, is The Aquin's adviser.