Tommie Award finalists announced

Daniel M. Miles Susan M. Slattery Dejen G. Tesfagiorgis

Tommie Award finalists announced

Daniel M. Miles, Susan M. Slattery and Dejen G. Tesfagiorgis have been voted finalists for the 2008 Tommie Award.

Preliminary voting on the 29 nominees ended Wednesday. Finalists were selected by a vote of students, faculty and staff. The vote to determine the Tommie Award winner will be held in mid-February.

"All 29 nominees have made significant contributions to this community and will leave a legacy of transformative leadership and powerful impact on our campus," said award coordinator Brian Dusbiber, director of Student Affairs Life/Work Center. "Congratulations to all."

The 26 other nominees are: Audrea N. Bellard, Katie C. Berry, Van L. Chounlamountry, Michael R. Danielson, Joseph W. Dubis, Stephanie R. Edquist, Nicholas A. Engbloom, Gavin W. Grivna, Shara L. Guidry, Staci E. Hamilton, Ericka M. Leahy, Carl T. Mickman, Timothy D. Mullee, Dietrich T. Nissen, Bradley T. Pulles, Yolonda Y. Rogers, James R. Schultz, Jacalyn A. St. Dennis, Katherine M. Stanton, Sami H. Tierney, May Y. Vang, Angela W. Wachira, Eileen M. Ward, Malik D. Watkins, Nayila E. Yaro, and Megan Marie Zweber.

The Tommie Award has been presented since 1931 to a senior. It recognizes achievement in scholarship, leadership and campus involvement, and represents the highest ideals of the university.

The Tommie Award is sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs. For more information, contact Dusbiber, (651) 962-4790.