University Advocates for Women and Equity to Present Sister Pat Kowalski Women's Leadership Award at Annual Reception April 19

The St. Thomas community is invited to celebrate the annual spring reception of the University Advocates for Women and Equity on Thursday, April 19.

At the reception, the Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Award will be presented to a staff member, Pat Alexander, and to a student, Christina Weiberg. Three other awards also will be presented to Alexandra Campion, Lisa Johnson, Dr. Susan Marsnik and Dr. Tori Svoboda.

The reception will be held from  3:30 to 4:30 p.m. in the Great Room (100) of McNeely Hall on the university's St. Paul campus.

The Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Award is given annually to a female employee of the university, rotating among different constituencies (faculty, exempt staff, nonexempt staff), and to a female student.

Previous recipients of the award are:

  • • Pauline Lambert, 2000
  • • Amanda Rios, 2001
  • • Ann Johnson, 2002
  • • Elizabeth Dussol, 2003
  • • Nicole Gurgel, 2004
  • • Kay Egan, 2005
  • • JoAnn Andregg, 2006
  • • Alethea Alden and Laura Stierman, 2007
  • • Jill Manske, 2008
  • • Mary Ann Ryan, 2009
  • • Lauren Miller and Kelly Rodriguez, 2010
  • • Debra Petersen, 2011

Kowalski died in May 1999. The award is dedicated in memory of her spirit and work. She was director of community partnerships at St. Thomas for seven years. She initiated and facilitated programs and contacts with the broader community. She was a member of the University Committee on Women and was interested in issues concerning women and equality.

For more information email Dr. Susan Myers.