UST-Augsburg Model United Nations team wins honorable mention at national conference

UST-Augsburg Model United Nations team wins honorable mention at national conference

The Model United Nations team of the Foreign Affairs Club was awarded honorable mention at the National Model United Nations Conference March 18-22 in New York. The St. Thomas team partnered with Augsburg this year to represent the delegation of India.

More than 4,000 students from the United States and 31 countries around the world participated in this conference, where opening and closing ceremonies took place at UN Headquarters in the General Assembly Great Hall. The delegates were addressed at the welcome ceremony by Dr. Asha-Rose Migiro, deputy secretary-general of the United Nations.

During their week in New York, St. Thomas and Augsburg students also visited and were briefed at the Indian Mission to the UN, as well as the Holy See, where Archbishop Celestino Migliore addressed the group and invited them for homemade Italian pizza.

Members of the St. Thomas team included: Peter Billerbeck, Michael Bykow, Matthew Eldred, Andrew Engen, Margaret Henehan, Jose Hernandez, Rachel Hoffman, Nicole Jackson, Emmy Josefson, Treye Kettwick, Caitlin Kirkman, Adam Maikkula, Alexander Miamen, Kiersten Norby, Haley Waller and Anna Zearley.

Hernandez also was honored by being elected as rapporteur to serve on the General Assembly's Fourth Committee. Miamen served as a justice on the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia.

The Model United Nations team thanks everyone who has supported its efforts in representing St. Thomas at this National Model United Nations Conference, including the deans of the College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Business, as well as the Office of Institutional Diversity.

Anyone interested in participating in future Model United Nations conferences should e-mail Norby or Dr. Elizabeth Klages, faculty adviser.