Luann Dummer Center for Women Seeks Graduate Student Applications for Advisory Board Opening

The Luann Dummer Center for Women is seeking a graduate student from the university for its advisory board. The advisory board, composed of faculty, staff and students, is a decision-making body for the LDCW on matters concerning the center's budget, membership, grant distribution and other important issues.

Those interested are invited to send a statement of interest via email attachment to Jessie McShane at; please include information on your academic or professional experience with issues related to women and gender. Please view the LDCW website for its mission and programs.

Expressions of interest should be received no later than Friday, Oct. 17.

The board meets about five times during the academic year (more if necessary) and is in frequent communication with the center's director to assist in various ways, including the development of policy for the center. The advisory board also serves as the search committee for subsequent directors of the center. The term is approximately six years, although students serve only until their status changes.

The Luann Dummer Center for Women addresses the needs and aspirations of women. The center’s educational programs, activities and resources are available to students, faculty and staff of the university. These services foster the intellectual, spiritual and personal development of women, and promote an open and diverse environment at St. Thomas. By enhancing academic experiences and providing developmental opportunities, the center assists women in achieving their highest potential. As the center fulfills this purpose, it contributes to the entire campus community. The Luann Dummer Center for Women was established in 1993 by a special bequest from Dr. Luann Dummer's estate and is located in O'Shaughnessy Educational Center, Room 103.

For questions or additional information about the center or its advisory board, email the director, Young-ok An, or contact a current board member:

Vanessa Cornett-Murtada, Music Department

Elizabeth Dussol, Academic Counseling

Marie Lopez del Puerto, Physics Department

Jill Manske, Biology Department

Curt Le May, The Ireland Library

Sue Myers, chair of Women’s Studies Program; Theology Department (ex officio)

Patricia Satzer, Law Library

Morgan Schreurs, undergraduate student representative

Carey Winkler, School of Social Work

Kari Zimmerman, History Department

Nancy Zingale, ex officio