Jeanne Parsons Receives 2011 Nonexempt Staff Council Appreciation Award

Jeanne Parsons received the 2011 Nonexempt Staff Council Appreciation Award at this year’s Staff Appreciation Breakfast April 27.  The award is presented annually to an hourly staff member in recognition for living and promoting the mission of the University of St. Thomas.

Jeanne Parsons

Jeanne Parsons

Parsons is registration coordinator for all on-campus programs in the College of Applied Professional Studies, which includes the School of Education as well as Graduate School of Professional Psychology. She was nominated for the award by one of her colleagues: Jackie Grossklaus, department assistant in Leadership Policy Administration. 

In her nomination, Grossklaus mentioned that Parsons “works in an office where I am not certain how she gets anything done as there is always constant interruption.”  But Parsons always takes the time to “lend a smile and an ear to listen.”

Parsons responsibilities include entering all courses into Banner, working with students regarding registration as well as ensuring their academic program is on track for timely completion, providing training to others within the department and is said to handle all “proficiently and professionally.”

"Jeanne has been serving the university community for more than two decades," remarked Dr. Chris Vye, associate dean in the College of Applied Professional Studies and Parson's direct supervisor. "She embraces complexity and challenge in her day-to-day work, which exemplifies the excellence we aspire to at St. Thomas."

Previous award recipients are:

  • Mary Jean Loomis (2006)
  • Mary Kay O’Rourke (2007)
  • Pat Alexander (2008)
  • Barb Dunker (2009)
  • Helen Hunter (2010).