Preliminary Tommie Award voting starts today

Who best represents the highest ideals of the University of St. Thomas?

It's your call. Preliminary voting  for the Tommie Award starts today to narrow the field of nominees from 25 to three. To be a part of a St. Thomas tradition that dates to 1931, vote for the three  nominees you believe are most deserving of the 2010 Tommie Award.

Students, faculty, and staff can vote online today through Wednesday, Dec. 9, to select the finalists. The Tommie Award is presented to a senior annually and recognizes accomplishments in scholarship, leadership and campus involvement.

When you access the ballot you will be prompted for your St. Thomas username and password. If you are not sure of your password, visit the password Web site. You also can contact the IRT Helpline, (651) 962-6230.

A profile and photo of each nominee is provided at the voting Web site. For each nominee, you can view:

  • A personal profile of scholarship, leadership, and campus involvement
  • A resume
  • Three testimonial statements

Vote here.

At the conclusion of the preliminary voting, three nominees will be announced for the final voting process in mid-February 2010.

The Tommie Award will be presented at the St. Thomas Day celebration in March 2010. For more information, e-mail Amanda Suniti Niskodé-Dossett.

The Tommie Award nominees are: Leah D. Agbor, Nicole Arola, Julie A. Blatz, Steven W. Broszko, Teron L. Buford, John A. Busch, Danielle Cotton, Shane M. Delaney, Dustin Dodge, Annie M. Donnellan, Greg Hartung, Jeffrey A. Hilliard, Felipe Jaque Pino, Bridget E. Kapler, Shane Kitzman, Amanda A. Leaveck, Anthony Linn, Lauren Miller, Ashley Patraw, Kathryn A. Pogin, Derek Porter, Jena Root, Joseph J.A. Sunnarborg, Bereket A. Worku and Alison M. Wright.