Jane Jackelen Receives 2012 Nonexempt Staff Council Appreciation Award

Jane Jackelen received the 2012 Nonexempt Staff Council Appreciation Award at this year’s Staff Appreciation Breakfast March 28. The award is presented annually to an hourly staff member in recognition for living and promoting the mission of the University of St. Thomas.

Jane Jackelen

Jackelen is a member of the Alumni and Constituent Relations administrative staff. She was nominated for the award by a colleagues, Colleen Casey Simonson, manager, Constituent Relations. 

In her nomination, Casey Simonson mentioned that “Jane’s gregarious and cheerful personality lends itself to excellent working relationships throughout the university. She is the face and voice that our constituents and alumni hear when they call or stop in the office for event information. She is always ready and willing to serve as a resource.”

In addition to her work for the university, Jackelen is an active member of her parish, Mary, Mother of the Church in Burnsville, and involved in many parish projects: the Pelican Rapids confirmation retreat; the annual, weeklong missionary visit to Guymas, Mexico; as well as raising funds for the God’s Child Project in Guatemala. She also leads a group for youth aged 15 to 20 that provides a nonthreatening environment for young people to talk about their spiritual life and also participate together in service projects benefiting the broader community. 

“Jane’s concern is not for herself but for others. She does not seek the spotlight but rather celebrates the accomplishments of others," Casey Simonson remarked. “She is a shining example to all of us and a gift to St. Thomas.”

 Previous award recipients are:

  • Mary Jean Loomis (2006)
  • Mary Kay O’Rourke (2007)
  • Pat Alexander (2008)
  • Barb Dunker (2009)
  • Helen Hunter (2010)
  • Jeanne Parsons (2011)