Dr. Brenda Powell, Melissa Seymour Honored as Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Award Winners

St. Thomas faculty member Dr. Brenda Powell and student Melissa Seymour have been honored as the 2013-2014 Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Award winners.

Named for Sister Pat Kowalski, who was director of community partnerships at St. Thomas for seven years, the award is presented by the University Advocates for Women and Equity and given annually to women in the UST community who have distinguished themselves in their work on issues of concern to women. The award rotates among three constituencies of female employees on the UST campus: faculty, exempt staff, and nonexempt staff. An award also is given annually to a female student.

Powell and Seymour will receive their awards at the UAWE’s spring reception at 3:30 p.m. Thursday, April 10, in Room 100, McNeely Hall, on the St. Paul campus.

Previous recipients of the award:

  • Pauline Lambert, 2000
  • Amanda Rios, 2001
  • Ann Johnson, 2002
  • Elizabeth Dussol, 2003
  • Nicole Gurgel, 2004
  • Kay Egan, 2005
  • JoAnn Andregg, 2006
  • Alethea Alden and Laura Stierman, 2007
  • Jill Manske, 2008
  • Mary Ann Ryan, 2009
  • Lauren Miller and Kelly Rodriguez, 2010
  • Debra Petersen, 2011
  • Pat Alexander and Christina Weiberg, 2012
  • Susan Anderson-Benson and Emilee Sirek, 2013

UAWE Names Winners of Three Annual Awards

Three students, four faculty members, and one staff member have been named recipients of three awards presented annually by the University Advocates for Women and Equity:

  • Students Emily Kindelspire, Morgan Schreurs, and Samantha Wisneski
  • Staff member Patty Petersen of University Relations
  • Faculty members Corrine Carvalho (Theology), Eilzabeth Schiltz (Law School), Sarah Schmalenberger (Music), and Elizabeth Wilkinson (English)

Petersen, Schiltz and Schmalenberger won the Good Sister award for giving help and support to the women around them on campus. Carvalho, Kindelspire and Schreurs are the recipients of the Pauline Lambert Advocacy Award for taking initiative in challenging problems that exist around gender issues. Wilkinson and Wisneski won the Sapientia Award, for outstanding scholarly or creative work with a focus on a woman or a concern related to women.