Dejen G. Tesfagiorgis voted 2008 Tommie Award winner

Dejen G. Tesfagiorgis voted 2008 Tommie Award winner

From the Division of Student Affairs

Congratulations to Dejen G. Tesfagiorgis, the 2008 recipient of the Tommie Award.

Dejen G. Tesfagiorgis

The Tommie Award has been presented since 1931 to a senior. The award recognizes scholarship, leadership and campus involvement. It is the community of St. Thomas that selects the recipient of the award, by vote of the faculty, staff and students. This award represents the highest ideals of the university.

Dejen, of Madison, Wis., carries a 3.67 grade point average and is an double major in business administration with a concentration in entrepreneurship, and music. Tesfagiorgis is in the Delta Epsilon Sigma National Honors Society and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. Has served as a vice president of the Band Club, as a peer tutor in the Music Department and is the principal saxophonist in the Symphonic Wind and Jazz Ensembles. He is vice president of the Music and Entertainment Industry Student Association and is a resident adviser in Ireland Hall. He has participated in Music Department-sponsored service projects.

Tesfagiorgis was nominated by Dr. Douglas Orzolek, associate professor of music education and associate director of bands

The Tommie Award will be presented at the St. Thomas Day Dinner on March 1. The Award is sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs.