Faculty and Staff Honorees Profiled in Videos

About 225 members of the University of St. Thomas community gathered on Friday, April 1, for a celebratory event paying tribute to faculty and staff. University employees were honored for service anniversaries, and one staff member and one faculty member were presented awards for outstanding achievements.

If you missed the presentation, you may view the videos (links below) profiling the inspiring winners of the Distinguished Citizen Award and Diversity Leadership Award.

Another video highlights St. Thomas custodian DeLaine Crawford, Alumni and Constituent Relations’ Mary Jean Loomis and professor emeritus (History Department) Dr. Scott Wright − faculty and staff who celebrated service milestones this year. Learn why and how they came to work at St. Thomas and/or what keeps them here.

Web and Media Services produced the videos.

Distinguished Citizen Award – Gayle Lamb, manager of cash operations for Dining Services, received the Distinguished Citizen Award for providing service to others and advancing the common good for the campus and broader communities. She is a longtime resident of the Powderhorn neighborhood in south Minneapolis, where she has been a leader in community affairs for the past 25 years. Lamb has worked at St. Thomas since 1986. See video.

Diversity Leadership Award – Dr. Bruce Kramer received a Diversity Leadership Award for reaching out to the community in an effort to create more diversity within the College of Applied Professional Studies. Kramer has worked with many local organizations to recruit students of color to St. Thomas. He has been a member of the School of Education faculty for the past 15 years and dean of CAPS since 2009. See video.

To learn more about the Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards program, see the “Engaging Employees” page on the Human Resources website.