Four new Members Elected to Exempt Staff Council; tie for one Seat Forces Second Ballot

Four new members were elected to the Exempt Staff Council during elections that were held April 1-6. Votes for the third and final academic seat were tied, which will force a second ballot for this seat.

A total of eight staff were nominated from the university’s academic departments, and four were nominated from the university’s administrative departments.

Elected members of the Exempt Staff Council are:


  • Shannon Hendricks, Development
  • Andrea Koeppe, UST Libraries


  • Terry Lynn Eggert, Registrar’s Office
  • Colleen Stephens, Academic Counseling

According to the council's by-laws: "Election to office shall be determined by a simple majority vote. In the event of a tie for a single vacancy, a second ballot shall be cast to determine between the two candidates who received the most votes."

Exempt Staff members will receive an email on Tuesday, April 12, with instructions on the second ballot to break the tie for the third academic seat.

The Exempt Staff Council  thanks the following council members for their two and one-half years of leadership and service whose terms are ending:

  • John Barron, Service Center
  • Linda Dorn, Registrar’s Office
  • Liz Dussol, Academic Counseling
  • Kim Schumann, Enhancement Program – Disability Services
  • Jerry Sweeney, Catering

Margaret Cahill, Tony Lewno, Nate Rolloff, Sandy Schwartz and Kay Wimer will continue to serve on the council for an additional year.

The Exempt Staff Council serves as a forum to foster communication at all levels of the institution, as well as promoting opportunities for exempt staff development, appointing representatives to university committees and, in general, focusing on cooperation in advancing the mission of the University of St. Thomas.