Christine Igielski Receives 2013 Nonexempt Staff Council Appreciation Award

Christine Igielski

Christine Igielski

Christine Igielski received the 2013 Nonexempt Staff Council Appreciation Award at this year’s Staff Appreciation Breakfast on March 20. The award is presented annually to an hourly staff member in recognition for living and promoting the mission of the University of St. Thomas.

Igielski is an administrative assistant for the Political Science, History and Geography academic units. She was nominated for the award by Andy Leet and Bob Werner.

Igielski has been at UST for 20 years, and Werner said that, in his time in the John R. Roach Center for the Liberal Arts, he can’t recall a single day when she had anything less than a positive attitude. Her job responsibilities cross over three academic departments – a challenge in itself.

Catherine Cory, chair of the History Department, says Igielski is an exemplary administrative assistant who is both a calming presence and unflappable. She handles all her job responsibilities without fail and has an almost intuitive way of giving personal attention to any student, staff or faculty member. She keeps everyone informed, cultivates a welcoming atmosphere and fosters a community of respect and dignity.

Igielski continually has served the UST community through her willingness to volunteer. Among many other activities she has been a member of the Nonexempt Staff Council (on three separate occasions); she was a member of the Mission Statement Task Force, the Bunch Who Lunch, and the University Committee on Women; and, according to Leet, she has been an active force for good in the College of Arts and Sciences by being the first in line when volunteers are needed for projects that fall outside of regular duties. She naturally feels the call to serve.

Igielski is also a volunteer outside of St. Thomas. She is active in her home parish as a lector, Eucharistic minister, organizer of the annual church festival and participant in Habitat for Humanity projects. She currently is a part of the JustFaith program, a 30-week program that empowers participants to develop a passion and thirst for justice and prepares them for the work of social ministry.

Previous award recipients are:

  • Mary Jean Loomis (2006)
  • Mary Kay O’Rourke (2007)
  • Pat Alexander (2008)
  • Barb Dunker (2009)
  • Helen Hunter (2010)
  • Jeanne Parsons (2011)
  • Jane Jackelen (2012)