New All College Council officers sworn in yesterday

New All College Council officers sworn in yesterday

All College Council elections for the 2007-2008 school year were held recently. Campaigns for the student government positions started Tuesday, April 17, and voting took place Wednesday through Friday, April 18-20. The elected members were sworn in for office Sunday, April 29, at the ACC meeting in the Fireside Room, Koch Commons.

Carl Mickman, previously the elections and credentials chair, was elected the 2007-2008 president. Both previous student-athlete representatives, Matt Des Marais and Courtney Sekevitch, will hold positions on the ACC Executive Board. Des Marais will be executive vice president and Sekevitch, vice president of public relations.

The vice president of academic affairs will be Katie Berry, new to the council next fall. Ryan Weyandt will be returning as vice president of administrative affairs. Rounding out the Executive Board is the vice president of financial affairs, to be appointed soon.

Other winners include the class presidents and senators. Jayme Bohmbach will be the senior class president, with Dietrich Nissan and Susan Slattery as senior class senators. The junior class president will be Elis Byrne, and Amanda Stifter and Kevin Rainey will be junior class senators. Dustin Dodge won the race for sophomore class president, as did L.J. Stead and Brady Narloch for sophomore class senators.

Lizzy Freeman was elected as next year’s elections and credentials chair. Nicole Gruhot and Dani Carroll will both be neighborhood senators. Nafisi Elmi will take over as commuter senator, and Tarlin Saye will be a residential senator. Justin Conlin is returning as student organization committee chair.

Another election will be held during the upcoming fall semester to fill the remaining positions on the council: freshman class president, freshman class senator (two), legislative affairs senator, residential senator, and transfer senator.