Nine Named to School of Law Dean Search Committee

I am pleased to announce the appointment of a search committee for dean of the St. Thomas School of Law.

The committee has co-chairs: Dr. Susan Alexander, President’s Office, and Thomas Berg, law faculty. Other committee members include Dr. Christopher Puto, Opus College of Business, and six others, all affiliated with the School of Law: Ann Bateson (faculty), Nora Fitzpatrick (administration), Mitchell Gordon (faculty), Larry LeJeune (Board of Governors), Nekima Levy-Pounds (faculty); and Joel Nichols (faculty).

A complete position description will appear later this month on the Human Resources website; in the meantime, interested candidates should email Dr. Alexander at or Mr. Berg at I expect the search committee will complete its work during the spring semester and recommend a final candidate to me.

The new dean will succeed Thomas Mengler, who announced in November that he would step down as dean on June 30 after having served in the position for 10 years. I am grateful for Tom’s ongoing leadership as dean and his pledge for a smooth transition to his successor.