Nominate UST Women for 2013 Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Awards

The Coordinating Council of the University Advocates for Women and Equity is accepting nominations for the Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Award. The deadline for nominations is 5 p.m. Friday, March 8.

Nominations for the 2013 Kowalski awards will be accepted for exempt staff members and for students who have distinguished themselves through their work on women’s issues. The award is given annually to an exemplary female student; for employees, the award rotates among three constituencies of women on the UST campus: faculty, exempt staff, and non-exempt staff.


To nominate an exempt staff member or a student for the Kowalski award, write a letter to the Coordinating Council, no longer than 1.5 pages, explaining how the woman you wish to recognize demonstrates the following qualities:

  • Clarity of vision through insights into the needs and aspirations of women at the University of St. Thomas
  • Courage of convictions through an ability to speak and act
  • Generosity of spirit through leadership by example, which encourages others to see work in behalf of the women at St. Thomas as a source of joy and life

Email nominations to Dr. Susan Myers. The decision will be announced in early April, and the award will be presented at the UAWE spring reception Tuesday, April 23.

Each year the awards include monetary contributions, one to the Servants of Mary (Sister Pat Kowalski’s order) for the care of their aged and infirm members. Another financial award will go to a nonprofit organization named by each recipient.

Members of the UAWE Coordinating Council are not eligible for these awards. For more information contact a current member: Young-ok An, Beth Bergfield, Vanessa Cornett-Murtada, Liz Dussol, Sue Focke, Amy Kritzer, Susan Myers, Ea Porter, Mary Ann Ryan, Margie Siegel, Paddy Satzer, Lindsay Schwab, Elizabeth Wehner and Sheneeta White.

Kowalski died in May 1999. The Women’s Leadership Award is dedicated in memory of her spirit and work. She was director of community partnerships at St. Thomas for seven years, during which time she initiated and facilitated programs and contacts with the broader community.

Previous winners:

  • Pauline Lambert: 2000
  • Amanda Rios: 2001
  • Ann Johnson: 2002
  • Elizabeth Dussol: 2003
  • Nicole Gurgel: 2004
  • Kay Egan: 2005
  • JoAnn Andregg: 2006
  • Alethea Alden, Laura Stierman: 2007
  • Jill Manske: 2008
  • Mary Ann Ryan: 2009
  • Lauren Miller, Kelly Rodriguez: 2010
  • Deb Petersen: 2011
  • Pat Alexander, Christina Weiberg: 2012