Professional Notes

Professional Notes

Dr. Sanjeev Bordoloi, Opus College of Business (Decision Sciences Department), is co-author with K. Beach of a paper, "Improving Operational Efficiency in an Inner-City Emergency Department," published in the journal, Health Services Management Research, Vol. 20.

Dr. Mark Neuzil, College of Arts and Sciences (Department of Communication and Journalism), is author of "Blaze Orange and Green," reprinted in the most recent edition of the View From Listening Point, the newsletter of the Listening Point Foundation. The foundation was of created by the family of Sigurd Olson, author and environmental activist.

Dr. Pamela Nice, Center for Faculty Development, created the documentary, "Dreaming in Morocco,” which aired Dec. 16 on Twin Cities Public Television.   This broadcast was sponsored by MNTV, a consortium of the Walker Art Center, IFP-MN, Intermedia Arts and TPT. The film profiles the dreams that shape the lives of young adults in Morocco. The project began with questions raised by Nice's students in her Arab film and literature courses at St. Thomas and was filmed while Nice was on her Fulbright scholarship to Morocco.

Dr. Sarah Noonan and Dr. Thomas Fish, College of Applied Professional Studies (School of Education), presented two sessions, “Healing Dialogues: The Therapeutic Nature of Story” and “Dialogue with Self and Others: The Quest Narrative and Personal Transformation,” at the University Council for Educational Administrators annual meeting Nov. 15-18 in Alexandria, Va. With colleague Dr. Jean-Pierre Bongila they also presented, “Wolf and Wolf’s Brother Speak: The Use of Dialogue and Story in Communication Education” at the National Community Education Association annual meeting Dec. 6 in Minneapolis.

Dr. Thomas Dillon Redshaw, College of Arts and Sciences (English Department), recently published a review of John Deane’s The Instruments of Art (2005) in the November issue of Irish Studies Review. Deane is Ireland’s leading religious poet and received St. Thomas' second O’Shaughnessy Award for Poetry in 1998.