Professional Notes for Sept. 13, 2012

Dr. Jean Birbilis, Graduate School of Professional Psychology, presented her paper, "Career Counseling With Veterans and Independent Practice," in August at the annual convention of the American Psychological Association in Orlando, Fla.

Dr. Massimo Faggioli. Photo by Mike Ekern '02.

Dr. Massimo Faggioli, Theology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is the author of “True Reform. Liturgy and Ecclesiology in Sacrosanctum Concilium (Liturgical Press, 2012).

Dr. Eric Fort. Photo by Mike Ekern '02.

Dr. Eric Fort, Chemistry Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is co-author of two recently published papers. The first, "Diels-Alder Cycloaddition of Acetylene Gas to a Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbon Bay Region," was published in the journal Chemical Communications (2012, 8102-8104). The second article, "Facile Air-Oxidation of Large Aromatic Hydrocarbon Bay Regions to Bay Region Quinones. Predicted Oxygen-Sensitivity of Hydrogen-Terminated Carbon Nanotubes," was featured on the cover of the 10th anniversary issue of Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry (2012, 5747-5749). Both articles are published in conjunction with Dr. Lawrence T. Scott at Boston College.

Dr. Mark Neuzil. Photo by Elias Adams.

Dr. Mark Neuzil, Communication and Journalism, College of Arts and Sciences, and Office for Mission, is the author of an article, “The Canoe: A Smooth Navigator,” which was published in the July/August issue of The History Channel Magazine.

Dr. William Ojala, Chemistry Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is the author of a paper, “Competing Intermolecular Interactions in Some ‘Bridge-Flipped’ Isomeric Phenylhydrazones,” published in the July 2012 issue of the chemistry journal Acta Crystallographica, Section C: Crystal Structure Communications. Co-authors of the paper are former St. Thomas chemistry students Trina Arola, Ann Brigino and Jeremy Leavell, as well as Ojala’s brother, Charles R. Ojala, a member of the chemistry faculty of Normandale Community College. Ojala also presented a poster, “Isostructuralism in 2,2’-Disubstituted Benzylideneanilines,” at the 2012 annual meeting of the American Crystallographic Association, which was held July 28 through Aug. 1 in Boston. Co-authors of the poster presentation were Charles Ojala and former St. Thomas chemistry students Jonathan Smieja, Marika Kuspa, and Kendra Lystad. Both the publication and the poster presentation focused on aspects of crystal structure significant in the design and preparation of new solid materials.

Dr. Bill Ojala. Photo by Mike Ekern '02.

Dr. Gerald Schlabach, Theology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is the author of “Call No Movement New Until It Is Old: ‘New Monasticism’ and the Practice of Stability,” published in Pro Ecclesia 21, no. 3 (Summer 2012): 247–57.

Students from the Chemistry Department presented posters describing their research Aug. 9 at the Summer Undergraduate Research Expo held at the McNamara Alumni Center of the University of Minnesota and sponsored by the Materials Research Science and Engineering Center. The participating students, the titles of their posters, and their advisers were:

  • Rashmi Poudel, “Online Trapping and Desorption for the Improvement of Nitric Oxide Detection With Micro-Dialysis Extraction and a Chemiluminescence Detector,” and Daphne Welter, “Online Monitoring of Fermentations Using Microdialysis Extractions Coupled With Mass Spectrometry,” students of Dr. Tony Borgerding.
  • Cole Johnson, “Computational Analysis of Molecular Fluoroquinolone Using GAMESS,” student of Dr. Joseph Brom.
  • Bryan Haugen, “The Synthesis of Symmetrical Triazoles,” Michael Slitts, “Ni(NHC)2 Complexes for Use in the Catalytic Dehydrogenation of Ammonia Borane,” and Meghan Talbot, “Synthesis of Triazolylidene Type Ligands,” students of Dr. Marites Guino-o.
  • Evan Beacom, “Synthesis of Imidazole Derivatives,” Brooke Capelle, “Synthesis of a Novel Yellow Thermochrome,” Mark Frommelt, “Synthesis of a Hyperpolarizable Molecule Containing a Photochromic Switch Leading to Absorption in the Near Infrared Region,” Thomas Gentle, “Synthesis of a Novel Polymerizable Isoluminol Derivative,” Rebecca Kummer, “Synthesis of a Novel Antibacterial Compound,” Sarah Larson, “A Novel Route to N-Alkylated Benzimidazoles,” Mark Schwerkoske, “Synthesis of Potential Antimalarial Compounds,” and Olga Zamulko, “Synthesis of a Topologically Designed Novel Antibiotic,” students of Dr. J. Thomas Ippoliti.
  • Michael Thiem, “Quantitative Measurement of an Ultra Small Riboflavin Fluorescent Sample Using a Titration Method,” student of Dr. Gary Mabbott.
  • Zach Henseler, “Systematic Analysis of Incubation Conditions on G-Wire Self-Assembly,” student of Dr. Thomas Marsh.
  • Jenna Johnson, “Intermolecular Contacts Involving Halogen Atoms in the Solid-State Structures of Some bis-Benzylideneanilines,” student of Dr. William Ojala.
  • Kristin Braden, “Charge Density and Stereochemistry Affect the Interaction of PAMAM Dendrimer With Glycosaminoglycans,” Kyle Chamberlain and Ryan Smith, “Quantitative Determination of DNA Affinity for PEGylated Polycationic Gene Delivery Vehicles,” Danielle Francen, “Tat Peptide-Mediated Gene Delivery: Complex Formation and Interaction With Cell-Surface Glycosaminoglycans,” and Amber Schoenecker, “The Characterization and Study of Glycosaminoglycan Interactions With Tat Peptide to Aid in Drug Delivery,” students of Dr. Lisa Prevette.
  • Wendy Consoer, Dan Kellen and James Byrnes, “Effects of Ozonation on the Antibacterial Activity of the Macrolide Antibiotic Roxithromycin,” students of Dr. Kris Wammer.