Three Tommie Award Finalists Announced

Eyo Ekpo, Rae Horton and Shalaw Mohammed have been voted finalists for the 2013 Tommie Award.

Eyo Ekpo

Preliminary voting of the 23 nominees ended Wednesday. Finalists were selected by a vote of students, faculty and staff. The vote to determine the Tommie Award winner will be held Feb. 11 to 13. Résumés and testimonials for the finalists can be reviewed here.

Shalaw Mohammed

“All 23 nominees have made significant contributions to the UST community and are an outstanding representation of the extraordinary students who attend the university,” said award coordinator Vern Klobassa, director of student engagement. “I wish to extend my sincere congratulations to each nominee.”

The 20 other nominees were: Ahmed Aldhafeeri, Katie Anderson, Samantha Barriga, Kristyn Brisnehan, Nicholas Chang, Thomas Hannon, Sarah Hendricks, Curtis James, Collin Kearney, Geena Maharaj, Adam Martin, Michael Mortenson, Nneka Njoku, Michael Orth, Terese Quarberg, Bobby Ranallo, Jessica Root, Eric Weber, G Lee Xiong and John Young.

Rae Horton

The Tommie Award has been presented since 1931 to a St. Thomas senior. It recognizes achievement in scholarship, leadership and campus involvement, and represents the highest ideals of the university.

The Tommie Award is sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs. For more information, call Klobassa, (651) 962-6464.