Dr. Debra Petersen Named Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Award Winner

Dr. Debra Petersen, who teaches in the Communication and Journalism Department and the Women’s Studies Department, has been selected to receive the Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Award for 2010-11.

Dr. Debra Petersen

Dr. Debra Petersen

The award is presented by the University Advocates for Women and Equity and is given annually to a woman in the St. Thomas community who has distinguished herself in her work on issues of concern to women.

The Women’s Leadership Award is dedicated in memory of the spirit and work of Sister Pat Kowalski, who died in May 1999. She was director of community partnerships at St. Thomas for seven years, and initiated and facilitated programs and contacts with the broader community. She was a member of the University Committee on Women and was interested in issues concerning women and equality.

The award will be presented to Petersen at the UAWE’s spring reception at 3 p.m. Thursday, March 17, in the McNeely Hall Great Room, Room 100.

The award rotates yearly among different constituencies of the university – faculty, staff and students. Previous winners are:

  • Pauline Lambert, 2000
  • Amanda Rios, 2001
  • Ann Johnson, 2002
  • Elizabeth Dussol, 2003
  • Nicole Gurgel, 2004
  • Kay Egan, 2005
  • JoAnn Andregg, 2006
  • Alethea Alden, Laura Stierman, 2007
  • Jill Manske, 2008
  • Mary Ann Ryan, 2009
  • Lauren Miller and Kelly Rodriguez, 2010