The Minnesota Real Estate Hall of Fame, established in 2010 by the Shenehon Center for Real Estate at the University of St. Thomas Opus College of Business, will add three new members in a morning ceremony Thursday, Nov. 6, at the Golden Valley Golf and Country Club.

Members of the Minnesota Real Estate Hall of Fame are chosen for their outstanding business performance, high standards of ethics and sense of community. The three new members are:

George Karvel

George Karvel

George Karvel, Ph.D.
George Karvel chaired the real estate programs at both the University of St. Thomas and St. Cloud State University and has been a prolific writer, lecturer and litigation consultant during his long and illustrious career. Well-known for his popular Sunday morning real estate program on WCCO radio and his column in the St. Paul Pioneer Press, George Karvel made complex real estate topics easy to understand, while advancing the careers of real estate students and professionals through his leadership and his teaching.

Cyril "Cy" Kuefler Sr.

Cyril “Cy” Kuefler Sr.

Cyril “Cy” Kuefler Sr. (1925-2001)
A successful real estate entrepreneur in the St. Cloud area, Cy Kuefler worked hard to promote his own business and to improve his profession. He believed in the power of education and played a significant role in elevating the educational and ethical standards within the real estate industry. His progressive vision included real estate programs in higher education and his efforts have had far-reaching and long-lasting benefits for real estate students, consumers and companies in Minnesota.

Jim Stanton

Jim Stanton

Jim Stanton
Jim Stanton is among the few who can take credit for shaping the terrain of a large metropolitan area. From Coon Rapids’ Riverdale Village in the north to Prior Lake’s Wilds Golf Course in the south, Stanton has developed more than 6,000 home sites in 28 different metro area cities. His numerous commercial and residential buildings dot the Minneapolis skyline. During his long career Stanton has made a significant contribution to the real estate industry through the projects he has completed and through his extraordinary service work with industry-related organizations.

The Nov. 6 induction program runs from 8-10:30 a.m. Keynote speaker will be Robert Senkler, chairman and CEO of the Securian Financial Group. Senkler, who has been with Securian for more than 35 years, has served as chair of the Minnesota Business Partnership and was named Executive of the Year in 2006 by the Minneapolis-St. Paul Business Journal.

The program is open to the public and the cost is $50. More information is available here.

The Minnesota Real Estate Hall of Fame now has 27 members. Previously named were:

  • 2010: Tony Bernardi, Lloyd Engelsma, Gerald Rauenhorst, William Reiling, Jim Ryan and Sam Thorpe Sr.
  • 2011: Robert Hoffman, Darrel Holt, Bernard Rice, Emma Rovick and five members of the Dayton family: Bruce and the late Douglas, Donald, Kenneth and Wallace.
  • 2012: David Bell, Robert Boblett Sr., Philip Smaby and Boyd Stofer.
  • 2013: Leonard Bisanz, Helen Brooks, Thomas Crowley, M.A. Mortenson Sr. and Kenneth Stensby.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email