Professional Notes for Dec. 10, 2015

Dr. Kate Boyle, chair, Leadership, Policy and Administration Department, College of Education, Leadership and Counseling, was one of three selected to receive a 2016 American College Personnel Association (ACPA) Annuit Coeptis Senior Professional Award in Montreal on March 8, 2016. The Annuit Coeptis Awards were created in 1979 by ACPA to celebrate the lives of Philip A. Tripp, Ursula Delworth and Cynthia Johnson who dearly loved to challenge their contemporary and junior colleagues in a spirit of personal and professional sharing, good humor and intellectual debate. Senior Professional honorees must demonstrate evidence of contributions to the field of student affairs with regard to administrative service or teaching; research and publication; professional association service; and demonstrated leadership.

Dr. Thomas Bushlack

Tom Bushlack

Dr. Tom Bushlack, Theology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is the author of “The Return of Neo-Scholasticism? Recent Criticisms of Henri de Lubac on Nature and Grace and their Significance for Moral Theology, Politics, and Law,” which was published in Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics 35, no. 2 (2015): 83-100.

Dr. Hans Gustafson, Jay Phillips Center for Interfaith Learning, is the author of "Finding All Things in God: Pansacramentalism and Doing Theology Interreligiously" (with an emphasis on the mediation between theology and spirituality), published by Pickwick Publications.

Dr. Mike Hollerich

Mike Hollerich

Dr. Michael Hollerich, Theology Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is the author of an article, “Eusebius of Caesarea and His Commentary on Isaiah: Isaiah as Evangelist and Apostle,” published in the volume Transmission and Interpretation of the Book of Isaiah in the Context of Intra- and Interreligious Debates, edited by Florian Wilk and Peter Gemeinhardt, in the series Bibliotheca Ephemeridum Theologicarum Lovaniensium, no. 280 (Leuven, Belgium: Peeters Press, 2015), pp. 185-214.

Dr. Michael Klein

Mike Klein

Dr. Mike Klein, Justice and Peace Studies Department, College of Arts and Sciences, is the author of a theoretical book, Democratizing Leadership: Counter-hegemonic Democracy in Communities, Organizations and Institutions, which is part of the series Counter-Hegemonic Democracy and Social Change, editors: Paul R. Carr, Université du Québec en Outaouais, and Gina Thésée, University of Quebec à Montreal.

Dr. Buffy Smith, Sociology and Criminal Justice Department, College of Arts and Science, presented a professional development mentoring workshop for academic advisers on how to empower students to navigate the hidden curriculum of higher education Dec. 1 at the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities.

Artika Tyner

Artika Tyner

Dr. Artika Tyner, interim officer of diversity and inclusion, presented "Leadership 101: Vigilance in Action" in November at the Overcoming Racism Conference in St. Paul. Also, Tyner received the Dispute Resolution Center's 2015 Kay Pranis Award in recognition of her work building and rebuilding human lives and communities. As the keynote speaker at the DRC’s 33rd Anniversary Celebration, she will speak on leadership for social justice and restorative justice.

Dr. John Wendt

John Wendt

Dr. John T. Wendt, Ethics and Business Law Department, Opus College of Business, is the author of an article titled “Horse Racing in the United States: A Call for a Harmonized Approach to Anti-Doping Regulation” that has been accepted for publication by the Journal of Legal Aspects of Sport.

Dr. Robert Werner, professor emeritus, Geography Department, College of Arts and Sciences, wrote a successful grant proposal to the Benedictine Foundation of Watertown, South Dakota, for $3,000 to fund a furnace for a family on the Crow Creek reservation in Fort Thompson.